Let’s Have a Party, Proceed to Party!

2 Feb

Fun night at the Rutledges!  After Jerry and I both had long, crappy days (other than a fabulous time out for comfort food and girl time with the hotties I had lunch with!), I decided to make dinner yummy and simple.  I knew we had all the ingredients (all of which the kids enjoy).  But of course, you know, the best laid plans….

So for dinner, I made Strombolis (adapted from http://www.laurenslatest.com/how-to-make-stromboli/)

Ingredients:

1/2 lb. pizza dough (I used two cans of crescent dough sheets)

1/2 cup pizza sauce ( I did not measure how much sauce I put on, I spooned it out of the jar and lightly covered the    dough, since we are a light on the sauce kinda family)
shredded mozzarella cheese ( I used three different kinds of shredded cheeses – colby jack, pepperjack and the italian blend – no measured amounts, just covered the sauce)
9 slices salami ( I used mini pepperonis left over from my pizza muffins from the weekend)
7 slices deli honey ham (omitted)
1 egg, beaten (no need when using crescent dough)
dried parsley & parmesan cheese {optional}
extra pizza sauce for dipping {optional

Directions:

Preheat oven to 500 degrees (375 if you use the crescent sheets like me). Line large rimmed cookie sheet with parchment or spray lightly with non-stick cooking spray. Spread pizza dough out on baking sheet to be approximately 10×16. Spread pizza sauce over 2/3′s of the dough lengthwise, leaving a 3×16 rectangle of plain dough along one of the edges. Top sauce with half the grated cheese, salami and ham. Top with remaining cheese. Brush the plain strip of dough with the egg. Fold in the sides about an inch and brush them with egg. Roll up like a jelly roll lengthwise starting along the long edge of dough topped with all the fillings and ending with the plain strip of dough on the bottom of the roll. Brush the entire stromboli with egg and gently cut slats in the top of the dough every 1-2 inches (I skipped the slats). Sprinkle parsley and cheese over top and bake 8-10 minutes ( I baked 14 min) or until bubbly and golden. Remove from oven, cool 5 minutes and slice into pieces. Serve with more pizza sauce.

This came out of the oven smelling “magically delicious”!  I was so excited I knew the kids were gonna LOOOOVE it.  I even made a section that did not have pepperonis for my Kenmeister who “says” she doesn’t like them (although I made her eat two as we were cooking…to “try” it again”.

We started strong, both kids said “yummy”.  Then, neither proceeded to finish their plates.  Kole picked out all of the pepperonis and ate them.  Kennedy said her tummy hurt, but that she would be back later.  Do you think that happened?!?  Even Kinlee had to have an alternate meal.  It was just too cheesey for her to handle.  So Jerry and I gobbled up our slices, both really enjoying them!  Kole is not really a big fan of the crescent dough, while I think it makes any dish awesome, if he can taste too much of it, he tends to quit eating it.  I am not sure whose child he is, but no kid of mine would ever turn down bread, especially of the cresent variety.

All in all, this is a super easy dish, which should be a crowd pleaser (unless you have my children).

             

Craft Time!!

Okay, so tonight we had a Red Solo Cup tourney for the kids (and I have now officially been singing that song for two hours!).

We set up a pyramid with the cups and 10 “guys”.  Kole and Ken each picked 5 figurines to stack on the cups.  Then each child chose their weapon (okay, they chose which nerf gun they were going to shoot with). We played three rounds (and Jerry played too).

Kinlee just watched.

Round one…they each had 1 shot to knock down as many guys and cups as they could – Kole took home this round.

Round two…they had three shots to see how many they could knock down – Jerry won this one (geez, Dad, haven’t you ever heard of letting the kids win?)

Round three…they each had twelve shots to see if they could knock them all off the table, which no one did.  But Kole only had two cups left and was declared the winner!

This was a riot!  They got to choose their weapons, pick guys for the pyramid, had a little friendly competition.  Another great Pinterest hit!  We love you Pinterest!!!!

         

Last, but not least, we finished the night repeating the same exercises as last night, only adding one more of each – 6 push ups, 31 sit ups, and 26 jumping jacks.  Kennedy cried during the sit ups and Kole was the jumping jack energizer bunny.  He just kept going and going and going.

 

OHHH!  And I totally forgot to mention that Jerry is in the kitchen right now as we speak, making a Pinterest dessert – the Brownie Cookie Dough Sandwiches.  He brought me a taste of the batter while I was typing and it was sinful!  I cannot wait to try these little pieces of heaven.  I told him to take pics, so I will review tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

