NO Leftovers!!

27 Jan

Last night was a blast….right up until the time that I tried to blog about it and wordpress would not let me add the pics.  Sooo, here I am doing it tonight.

Work has been so crazy this week, that I have been completely unprepared for dinners and crafts and have been totally winging it as dinner time approached.  So, last night I went through my pins to find something simple and that I new I had all of the ingredients for in my cabinets.  The choice was simple:

Surprise Pancakes from 2makeendsmeet.blogspot.com

Ingredients:

2 tbsp butter

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup milk

2 eggs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450*
Put 2 tbsp. butter (or margarine, I guess) in an 8″ square pan.
Place the pan in oven, until butter is melted.  (I just microwaved for 40 seconds or so, until melted.)

Mix:
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup milk
2 eggs
Pour mixture into the pan.  Sprinkle with cinnamon (or nutmeg).  I used cinnamon.
Bake for 15 minutes at 450*.  Remove from oven and make sure your kids see how fun it looks right away!

(I actually doubled the recipe and used a 9X13 in pan)

         

These smelled yummy!  They quickly deflated and ended up being very thin, but immediately out of the oven, the dish was bubbly and looked pretty cool.  The kids giggled and ooohed and ahhhhhed as I removed it from the oven.  We added powdered sugar and syrup.  Both kids, okay all three kids had seconds and the entire dish was finished within minutes.  A huge success! 

 

Immediately following dinner, we started our project for the evening – ABC Picture Books.

I gave each of the kids a piece of paper with the alphabet on it.  They had to go through the house and take a picture of something that started with each letter of the alphabet.  When they found an item, they would come and tell me, write it on the paper and then they would proceed with another letter.  Soooo fun!  They enjoyed this as much as the scavenger hunt.  This weekend I am going to print the pics and we will assemble the books one night for an activity.  

       

I love nights like this one, happy, quality time together with NO TEARS!  Yes, no tears during dinner or during project time.  It was heaven, if only we could do this a bit more often.

 

Tonight was kind of a shamble.  Koley had a party with his teachers for three hours.  Kennedy grabbed some food at grandma and grandpa’s when we went over there to chat.  She did continually ask about her craft, so we started making a book.  She didn’t quite get it finished.  It is illustrated, now we are just in the process of adding her text.  It is called PacMan Party.  Nooooo, my kids do not play too many video games.  This title and subject of her book exemplifies the reason we need to take time out each night for a family craft, project or experiment to get away from the video games and the tv.  I have some pics of her drawing, but the camera is in the other room and, frankly, I am too tired to go and get it.  I was so enthralled with “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” that I stayed up until 2 am reading last night.  So now, sleepy time, and pics will be posted tomorrow!

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

