Ooey, Gooey and Messy!

24 Jan

Finally, after a week long hiatus, we plunged back into our Pinterest Parties with a wonderfully, easy new dish I found at http://realmomkitchen.com/9947/italian-crescent-casserole/.

I made an Italian Crescent Casserole, which I called Spaghetti Pie.  I figured that the kids LOVED the braided spaghetti bread, so if I named this something similar, maybe, just maybe, they would give it a shot.  As usual, I altered the recipe to cater to my little picksters!

Ingredients:

1lb cooked ground beef

1 cup spaghetti sauce (the original recipe called for white sauce)

1 package crescent rolls

1 package shredded cheese ( I used a four cheese blend)

Directions:

  1. In skillet, mix cooked beef and red sauce. Heat over medium heat until warm. ( I seasoned with a few dashes of chili powder)
  2. Separate crescent dough into 8 triangles. Place dough in ungreased 9-inch glass pie plate in spoke pattern, with narrow tips overlapping rim of plate about 3 inches.
  3. Press dough in side and bottom of pan to form crust and cover the pan. Sprinkle with 1 cup of the cheese over dough in the pan.
  4. Spoon meat mixture evenly over cheese.
  5. Bring tips of dough over filling to meet in center; do not overlap.
  6. Sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup cheese over the dish. Bake at 375°F 15 to 20 minutes. (original recipe calls for basil on top as well)

           

This recipe was quick, easy and delicious.  It would be perfect for a night when you don’t have a lot of time.  Kole dug in right away.  First, he said, “it’s not that good, but it’s okay.”

 

Then he started eating, and eating and asked for seconds.  He also started making fun of Kennedy, who was crying because she “doesn’t like hamburger”.

As she cried, Kole said he was going to tell all his friends that Kennedy cried over a little hamburger.  He begged us to get out the video camera cheering, “Come on, this will get at least a million hits, maybe two!”  Even after a gentle reminder of how he lost his mind over a green bean, he still continued to taunt her.

Then, she tried it.  Apparently, it wasn’t so bad because she kept eating.  After she finished about half of her portion, she asked to be finished.  We gave her permission, and told her she earned one point for trying her dinner.  This brought on more tears.  “I want to get my five points!  wahhhhhhhh!!!”  With tears running down her face, she continued to eat.  Several times, I told her that she could stop, but she refused to leave the table.  She  really wants that play date, so she sat crying and eating until she had cleaned her plate.  Magically, the tears stopped and just like that, she was ready for craft time. 

Kinlee thoroughly enjoyed the Spaghetti Pie.  She ate and ate and ate.

And then….

Not because she didn’t like the food, but because we wouldn’t give her ANYMORE food.

One crying because she has to eat it for points, the other because we refuse to give her more…I am hoping one day soon to find a perfect balance of happy, well-fed, sweet, compliant children.  It’s going to happen, it’s going to happen, IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN!

(By the way, Jerry and I both really thought it was delish!)

Craft time!

Since my little second grader is studying matter – solids, liquids and gases,  I found an experiment at http://blog.austinkids.org/2011/04/09/from-a-liquid-to-a-solid/ which changes liquid to a solid.  This flopped BIG TIME.  I was beginning to think that Pinterest had changed me into some super woman who can make magic happen with her kids every night (or at least that I can follow directions and give the kids the illusion that I am this alternate being), then this stupid experiment knocked me back into reality and reminded me that I can not follow directions, nor am I Bill Nye the Science Guy.  I am going to give you the directions, and maybe you can make it work, but I can not get milk to curdle over heat.  If you make it happen, please tell me how the h you did it!

All you will need is:

  • 4 ounces of milk
  • 1 teaspoon of vinegar
  • a small pan
  • a small, clean jar

First, you will put the milk in a pan and heat it on the stove until it curdles. This happens when the milk begins to form lumps. Next, you will slowly pour off the runny liquid. Then, put your lumps in the jar and add vinegar. Let it stand for about an hour.

After an hour, you will notice the milk has turned into rubber! Finally, you can shape the lump into a ball or some other simple shape. Be sure to pour out any excess liquid before playing with the rubber. After doing this, let it sit on a paper towel for a few more hours. Once it is completely dry, you will now notice the milk has finally turned into plastic!

Okay, here are our pics…notice Kole’s face.  He is like what in the world is this crap?!? (By the way, I asked each of the kids whether they thought that the mixture would a) stay a liquid, b) become a solid or c) become a gas.  They each said a solid, until they found out we were boiling the milk and changed their guess to a gas.  So they were a bit surprised about the semi-weird solid state that it became.)

We are going to leave it out overnight and see if by some miracle the plastic forms.

     

Good Luck, maybe you can follow directions, unlike my uncrafty self!!

Leave a Reply

