Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!

14 Jan

Yesterday was Friday the 13th, and let’s just say that weird stuff was happening here.  So, between the tummy aches and the bleeding tongue that just wouldn’t quit, we didn’t have time to get in a project between school and Kennedy’s soccer party.  By the time we got home, it was bedtime (thank God!), so…as Jerry put it “Nothin’ to see here” yesterday.

Tonight, I thought I would surprise the kids with one of their favorites for dinner.  AND, since I actually saw the recipe a few days ago on Pinterest (http://www.familyoven.com/recipes/search/bisquick-sausage-balls), I wasn’t breaking the rules.  So, tonight we had Sausage Balls and carrots (the carrots are NOT part of the fave, just the new veggie of the day).

Ingredients:

1lb pork sausage

8oz  shredded cheddar cheese

bisquick

Directions

Mix sausage, cheese and bisquick thoroughly in large mixing bowl. 

( I never measure the amt of bisquick.  The recipe calls for 2 cups, but I think that would make it too dry.  I use around 3/4 to 1 cup.  It’s great, because if you are following a low carb diet, you can add as little as a few tablespoons and they still come out yummy!  This recipe also calls for hot sauce, which I do not use, but would probably be yummy!)

 

Roll mixture into 1 inch balls and place on baking sheet.  (Tonight, I made three different sized balls…stay tuned)

Bake for 30 minutes at 375 degrees.

While, the sausage was cooking, I also whipped up some carrots.  I had never even thought about, let alone tried to make any carrot dish before, so I quickly found a recipe on Pinterest and went for it.  I had to make a few modifications because I didn’t have pumpkin spice (so I omitted it) and substituted apple juice for apple cider.

Ingredients

2 carrots, cut into 2 inch circles (recipe calls for 2 lbs, I used two carrots 🙂 )

1/4 cup apple cider

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice ( I omitted)

1/4 teaspoon chili powder

2 tablespoons butter

   

Directions

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over medium heat and add the carrots. Cook for 2 minutes ( I cooked for 5, until they were soft), then drain in a colander and set aside.

In a medium-size pot combine all the remaining ingredients, and bring to a simmer over low heat. Add the drained carrots and toss to combine. Simmer on low heat for 5 minutes to incorporate flavors. Transfer to a serving bowl, garnish with parsley and serve.

I decided to make the sausage a little more fun!  On Halloween, we turned them into rats, so since it is soooo cold and there is snow on the ground, I turned them into snowmen (hence the three different sized balls).  I took a toothpick and used it to stack the three parts of the snowmen.  I used pretzels for the arms and stuck on a chocolate chip for the hat.  These poor guys didn’t have a face, that way they didn’t have to look them in the eyes, while eating them 🙂  (Really, I was not creative enough on the fly to find something for the face.  I had saved a few carrot pieces for the nose, but they didn’t work)

My wonderful, sweet hubby said they were the scariest snowmen that he had ever seen, but the kids thought they were fun!

  

I asked Jerry to sample the carrots, since I have never made them before.  He said they were terrible.  He said the “sauce” did not make them sweet at all.  So, I had planned to go easy on the kids if they didn’t like them.  Kennedy ate hers pretty quickly, but said they were too sweet???  Kole, again, went with itty bitty bites, but didn’t think they were too bad.  I walked out of the kitchen as Kole was taking his mouse sized nibbles, and walked back into the kitchen and he said “all done!”.  I knew there was no way he could have finished his carrot that quickly with the bites he was taking.  Then I spotted Luke sitting patiently behind him (Luke is one of our dogs.)  I asked him if he fed it to the dog.  He didn’t try to lie, he just said, “You caught me.  I’m sorry”.  Sneaky little sh*t.

So, I grabbed a new carrot, cut it in half and made him eat the whole bite at once.  He washed it down with some orange juice and I just let it go.  He ate with really very little complaining, so I didn’t say anything else.  I mean, if I would have had a dog growing up, I certainly would have tried to feed it anything that I didn’t want.  I can’t believe it took him this long to try it!

If you have never tried these sausage balls, I highly recommend it.  They are yummy!  They make a great, quick and easy appetizer for a get together.  Great for football Sundays, or great for an unhealthy, but happy dinner treat for the kiddos!

The Great Soap Experiment

Tonight, we found out what happens when you stick ivory soap in the microwave.  First, I asked Jerry what he thought would happen, then he asked each of the kids separately.  The guesses:

Jerry – Either it would melt or nothing would happen.

Kole – It would melt.

Kennedy – It would melt.

Wrong, wrong, wrong, they all got it WRONG! 🙂

I found this over at http://makingmemorieswithyourkids.blogspot.com/2012/01/soap-explosion.html.  All you need is a bar of ivory soap, a paper towel and a microwave.

 

I cut the bar into four pieces, because I read on another site, that a whole bar could fill the entire microwave.  I let each kid pick a piece and place it on a paper towel.

 

Then, everyone watched with anticipation as we placed the soap (one piece at a time) in the microwave for 1 minute!

The results….a soap explosion! (don’t worry, it did not really explode and make a mess in the microwave, just expanded)

It reminded me of what happens when you light those black snakes on fire around the fourth of July!

 

“Whoa, I didn’t see that coming!” – Kole

They loved it!  And I loved seeing their reactions!  I am definitely going to try to find more experiments.  They didn’t get

too creative this time, but I would like to see them come up with some outside of the box thinking and some interesting hypotheses. 

When we were all finished, we threw the kids in their tubs and let them see what happens when they put the “exploded soap” into the bath water.  Nothing too exciting,  it just dissolves.  But, you should have seen their faces when I asked if they want to see what happens if we put it in the tub.  Kole yelled, “This is going to be better than the paints!” 

I am not quite sure what he THOUGHT was going to happen, but then again, I don’t really want to know.

One Response to “Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!”

  1. Charleen January 14, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    I love reading your blog. I think the pictures really add to it and you are giving me so many ideas. Happy Blogging!

Leave a Reply

