A Twist on an Old Staple and Sticky Stackers

12 Jan

Ever since I pinned this recipe, I could not wait to try it!  There are certain foods that have a special place in the life of a child and the old staple Peanut Butter and Jelly is one of those foods.  Now pairing that with pie, seriously, that sounded like heaven.  Put it on a stick and what child can turn it down?  It seems like if you put anything on a stick, it looks like candy to a kid.  Kennedy will not eat mini corn dogs, but if I give her tooth picks, the corn dogs magically transform into fun food on a stick and – POOF – she will eat them all day long!

Tonight’s menu:  Peanut Butter and Jelly Pie Sticks, apples and a slice of cucumber

I adapted the recipe provided at http://spoonforkbacon.com by just using premade pie crusts, but you can check out their site for the pie crust recipe.

Ingredients:

2 premade pie crusts

peanut butter

your favorite jelly

1 egg

1 tbs heavy whipping cream

popsicle sticks

Directions:

Using a glass, I cut out circles from the bottom of the pie crusts.  When there was no more space for full circles in the crust, I combined the dough from both of them, rolled it out and used the glass to cut the rest of the circles.

Fill the center of half of the dough circles with peanut butter and jelly

Lightly whip egg and heavy whipping cream, brush the mixture onto the perimeters of the peanut butter and jelly covered circles. 

Push a popsicle stick into the center of each circle and press the pie tops onto the filled circles.

Brush the tops of the pies with the egg mixture.

Using a pairing knife, cut 3 small slits on the tops of each hand pie.  ( I also used a fork to indent the edges to give it more of a pie look.)

Place them onto a parchment lined baking sheet and bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 12 to 15minutes or until golden brown.

 

 

Kennedy, once again, was the champion eater.  She ate 1 and a 1/2 and is even going to take one of the leftovers to school for lunch tomorrow!  Kole has some issue with jelly.  This is the kid that took and peanut butter and jelly sandwich every day of preschool and now he doesn’t like jelly – whatever.  He said it would be good with peanut butter and chocolate, well, no sh&t !  Go figure, Kole complain about the dinner.  I think he has it in his head that if he complains every night, I might give up on this whole new food a night gig.  I admit, I have some issues with follow through, but so far so good and I am not going to let my 7 year old manipulator deter me!!  Kinlee did not get to try this one, since she can’t have peanut butter yet, but I know she would have loved it! 🙂

Tonight, we decided to play with marshmallows.

The activity:  Create a work of art with marshmallows and tooth picks.

I gave them each the same amount of marshmallows (mms) of varying shapes and sizes and a box of toothpicks.  They were to use the mms and toothpicks like tinkertoys and build!  They had to use all of their mms and the creation could not be larger than the cookie sheet in front of them.  They had 25 minutes to build.  Jerry was going to be the judge, and the child with the most creative art would get two extra points towards their play dates.  The other would get one.  My kids respond well to competition, so they were pumped! 

After the first round, we did it one more time.  This time I told them that they had to build a toower, house or some sort of structure. 

After the time was up, each time, we had them explain their artwork.  It was a riot listening to their little creative minds talk about the mm creations.  Kole created an army, complete with bows and arrows.  Kennedy built snow men and gates and an entire snowy day scene!  SO fun and I am sure we will do this again (especially since it was super easy and no mess)!

        

Tomorrow night we have a soccer party dinner, so the kids get a break from my horrible experiment!  They are going to be in heaven  – real, greasy appetizers and pizza!  They may never leave Smugalas!

3 Responses to “A Twist on an Old Staple and Sticky Stackers”

  1. Jennifer January 12, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Awesome looked good. Next time invite me over. I won’t complain!

  2. Andrea January 13, 2012 at 6:40 am #

    I am definitely making those pb&j pops, they look great! Alex has the same weird issue with jelly as Kole – used to eat it and now won’t touch it.

  3. TheresaShomaker@aol.com January 14, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    Very nice blog, if I may say so. I can already tell that you are going to give me quite a few ideas on what to do with the boys this year! Thanks Jen, Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

