Hallelujah! Hallelujah!

8 Jan

Tonight, Pinterest has pleased the fam, and even helped me divert a crisis!  I had planned on making a ham and cheese casserole, but when I went to prepare the dish, I read a step that I had missed before, “refrigerate for 6-8 hours before baking”.  UGH!  So, I found a substitute that I could whip up quickly and away we went!

Tonight’s Menu – Pasta with Cream and Garlic, Cheese Bread and Grapes

Ingredients for the Pasta (adapted from http://www.minnesotamonthly.com/media/Blogs/Dear-Dara/December-2011/FreshTartSteph-Recipe-Quick-Pasta-with-Cream-Garlic/)

1/2 lb. dried spaghetti (I used bow ties)
1 Tbsp. butter ( I used 2)
1 clove garlic, minced ( I used several dashes of garlic salt instead)
pinch of red pepper flakes (optional) (omitted)
1/2 c. heavy cream
salt
1/4 c. Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving (I used mozzerella)
freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Cook pasta in boiling, salted water according to package instructions.

While the pasta cooks, heat a small skillet over medium-low heat. Add butter and when it’s hot, add the garlic and red pepper flakes (if using) and gently saute until garlic is softening but not browned, about 3 minutes. Stir in the cream and a generous sprinkle of salt. Simmer for 1-2 minutes, stirring a few times, then remove from heat and set aside.

When pasta is done, just before draining it, reserve 2 Tbsp. of the pasta cooking water. Drain the pasta, return it to the pot, and add the garlic cream, Parmesan cheese, pasta cooking water, a sprinkle of salt, and a few grinds of black pepper. Toss until sauce is creamy and pasta is coated. Serve immediately with more cheese, if desired.

This is unlike any garlic butter pasta that I have ever made.  The cream was a new twist!

For the cheese bread, I cut two slices left over from the Italian loaf that I used for the bacon cheese bread, spread on a little butter, added a shake of garlic salt and sprinkled some colby jack cheese on top (also left over from the bc bread).  I baked these on a cookie sheet for 8 minutes at 350.

I added some grapes to their plates (red for Ken and green for Kole) and Voila!  Dinner is served!

 

 

Hallelujah!!!!  The heavens were singing and the kids ate all of their food!  Kennedy even ate doubles of everything (and this kid NEVER eats!)  I just kept snapping pictures, because I couldn’t believe they were actually finishing a meal other than pizza or chicken and fries!  We had smiles and laughter, no threats, no tears…I think, not quite sure, but I think this is what normal family dinners are supposed to be like.  I know that there was nothing crazy about this dinner, no new fancy foods to try, but this was new to them and they ATE it!  To me, this is a HUGE success! 

 

 

And, of course, my sweet baby ate hers all up!  She has yet to turn anything away!

 

Craft time is turning out to be a huge hit with the kids.  They ask me every morning what we are going to do for our craft that day.

Today, we made flubber!  Slimey, globby, goo and the best thing we have done so far!

Ingredients:

  • warm water
  • 1 cup glue
  • 2 tsp Borax (although I read wrong and used 2 tbsp)

Directions:

  • In one bowl, stir together 3/4 cup warm water, 1 cup of glue, and food coloring to get the color you want.
  •  In a second bowl, stir together 1/2 cup water and 2 teaspoons of Borax (find by the laundry soap in the store).
  • Pour the first mix into the second bowl and you have flubber!
  •  Just reach in and pull out the chunk of flubber (pour out the extra liquid).

I found this recipe at http://www.hsclassroom.net/2011/01/10-recipes-for-homemade-art-supplies/

 

 

My kids have always loved goo!  Whenever we go to Target and they have bottles of goo in the dollar section, we are forced (yes, forced, my kids run the house) to buy several bottles.

This was the ideal craft for them.  They each made their own, it came out perfectly slimey.  They rolled it, stretched it, tried to make the same shapes and talked to it (weird, I KNOW!).  They played with it until we made them take baths and they are playing with it still!  I know we will be making more of this and it was sooooo easy.  I think we are going to try and store it in small tupperware.  I’ll let you know how the storage goes!

 

So overall, this was a miraculous Pinterest day in our house!  I HEART PINTEREST! 

Two additional side notes, 1) I saw a pin this morning for wearing turquoise and pink together.  I did not pin it, because it’s not really my style.  However, when I went to dress Kinlee, I saw some turquoise pants and a cute pink Old Navy tee and decided to give it a try.  Turned out kind of cute!

 

2) Jerry peeks over my shoulder at night, while I am pinning and saw some 7 day soup diet that promised weight loss of like 10-17 pounds (whatever!).  I didn’t pin it, but sent him the link.  He started this crazy thing today, since we leave for Mexico in a little over a week.  I will find this, again, and pin it and keep you updated, but this is what the soup looks like

 

Gross!

 

I am so not ready for Monday 😦

Leave a Reply

