Crack Bread and Candy!

7 Jan

After the rough night last night, I thought that I would try and make today fun and yummy!  We had one soccer game at 12:15 and have another at 7:35, so we had all day to do a fun project and make a delish dinner. 

The afternoon started kind of rough since Kole was being a crankster.  But Kennedy and I didn’t let that ruin our fun.  Today we made a gingerbread house with the leftover Christmas candy.  Here is the link to the page where I got the idea http://theabundantwife.com/.

So her idea was to just use graham crackers, which I totally was on board with, simple is good.

The first thing we did was make the “royal icing”.  I have no idea why it is called this, but it is gooey and sticky and worked fabulously!

All you need is 5 cups of powdered sugar and 3 egg whites.  Mix the two (I used a fork) until you have a paste-like icing.

After we had our “goo” we started to build our house.  The project I pinned just made a rectangle house, but I was determined to actually make it look like a house.  So, I tried to cut the graham crackers with a sharp knife  to get the pointy roof effect.  This turned into a bit of a nightmare.  Every time I finished, the point would break off.  I got extremely frustrated and started getting mean.  I had to remember that this was for the kids…breathe, breathe, breathe.  

Then I decided to improvise. 

I took the box that the graham crackers came in and just cut it to look like a house shape.  We pasted the graham crackers onto the box and then pasted some crackers over the roof to enclose the house.  It looked a little Frankenstein-ish, but it worked and I knew we could do a little decorating to help.

I used two peanut butter jars to keep the roof from sliding off while the icing dried.  We let the icing harden for about 15 minutes before we started decorating.  We used m&ms and candy canes to cover some cracks.  We used candy canes for the front door.  We added lollipops on the sides, hershey kisses on the roof, gum for a chimney, starburst for some color, green sugar for the window and grass, and lindts bears for the inhabitants.  With the addition of the bears, Kole changed the name of the gingerbread house to the Candy Bear House.  Even with a moody 2nd grader, the three of us had a little fun and it didn’t turn out half bad for my first ginger bread house EVER!  (okay I probably made one in Girl Scouts, but this is the first one that I can remember!)

When we finished, it was dinner time!  The kids were super excited about dinner tonight – bacon-cheese bread.

Now, when I found this it was called crack bread, because it was supposedly THAT good.  I, however, have dubbed it the Heart Attack Snack after preparing this dish!   The original recipe called for a packet of ranch, sliced cheese and sourdough bread.  I omitted the ranch, added garlic salt, used shredded cheese and used Italian bread. 

Ingredients

1 loaf of italian bread

1/2 cup butter (1 stick)

8 oz shredded colby jack cheese

10 slices  of cooked, crumbled bacon ( I used big chunks, not “bacon bit” sized

garlic salt

Directions

  • Using a sharp bread knife cut the bread going both directions. Do not cut through the bottom crust

  • Mix together butter and a few shakes of garlic salt. Pour over bread. Makes sure you get it in between the cracks.
  • Place 1/3 of shredded cheese in between cuts.
  • Sprinkle bacon bits on bread, making sure to get in between cuts.
  • Repeat using cheese and bacon
  • Sprinkle a little remaining cheese on top
  • Wrap in foil the entire loaf in foil and place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Unwrap. Bake for an additional 6 or so minutes.

 

The smell of this was absolute torture!  It smelled like yummy heaven!  Even my picky pain the tush children thought so.  I did tell them, that they were going to have to eat some corn with this for their points.

   

The bread was a hit!  Both kids actually liked it, if you can believe it.  But what the heck is there not to like about bread, butter, cheese and bacon!?!?  I was foaming at the mouth watching them eat this!

Then the happiness all faded away to fits, when it came to the corn.  I had the nerve to give them mexicorn ( I was out of plain corn) and I couldn’t possibly expect them to eat it with red and green stuff in it.  Every last ounce of patience that I had flew right out the window. 

I snapped.  The result, Kole was not allowed to leave the chair until he ate every last bite of corn.  He threatened me with “fine, I’ll just miss my soccer game!”  Wrong move, I did not care if we had to sit there for days, he was going to each of the 5 bites of corn on his plate.

Very sullenly, he placed all of the corn (and peppers – which I still haven’t told them they were peppers, I said they were decoration.  Kennedy asked if you can taste decoration 🙂  ) on top of his bacon cheese bread and ate it all.

It was a struggle, but we made it through the day with no casualties.  Kinlee, for the third night in a row, was a champion.  She ate every last bite!  I am determined to make this baby a good eater!  (On a gross side note, I can not wait to change her next diaper, as this was her first time having corn!! )

One Response to “Crack Bread and Candy!”

  1. Jen A January 8, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    Yummo…on the bread and not house!!!

    And good for you for standing yoru ground. I do it all the time and my son still thinks I’m the best person in the world.

    I will have to add this to my boards.

Leave a Reply

