Hello world!

5 Jan

Sooo, this is my first attempt at blogging. ( Okay, really it’s my second, but I only posted like 3 times during the first attempt, so I don’t really count it!)

This is a brand new year and a year to do things that I love!  This blog about my unstructured and a little crazy family is going to encompass so many of those things!  First, it is about my husband and kids as we try new things and they are the most important loves of my life.  So this will give us a chance to try new things together and capture those moments to be preserved forever.  Some of the things we will be trying are new recipes.  We love to eat around here, but unfortunately, we don’t always eat the healthiest or even together as a fam. 

 Every night, we will try a new recipe.  However, my kids and I are extremely picky, so getting them (and me) to try new dishes is going to be a challenge.  In order to get them to try these new foods, I am doing the only thing I know how…bribery, of course! 🙂  I have informed them that there is going to be a point system.  For every new food they try, they will be awarded a number of points (and if they don’t try, points will be subtracted).  When they reach a certain number, they can cash their points in for a new toy, play date, or other similar prize.  Now, I have to figure out how the heck to come up with this point system and how to track it!!  That will be a task for later tonight.

In addition to the new foods, we are also going to try one new project as a fam each night – a DIY kinda thing.  Nothing big or fancy (at least not to start), but something that they will have fun doing.  A project that will let us all do something together that doesn’t involve, the Wii, the ipods, the xbox, the tv or the computers.  I hope that they don’t get bored of this, so it is going to be tricky trying to find a new project for every night!

So, you’re probably wondering where the heck I am going to find that many new recipes and craft ideas (or maybe not if you read my tag line), but I have decided to use Pinterest.  I have been totally obsessing over it the past couple of days, finding recipes, kids crafts, DIY ideas, clothes, places to go, etc, and thought maybe I could turn this new media that I love into fun for the whole family!  Now, I get to search everyday, but I am searching for a purpose – complete validation on my part. 😉

So now I have my family, food, and Pinterest all working to help me do one final thing that I love, which is to write.

This is going to be an interesting journey for us.  Hopefully, we will find new favorite foods, new fun DIY activites, and make new memories to create a fun blog (and if you know Kole, he usually has some crazy things to say that can entertain anyone and everyone!)

One Response to “Hello world!”

  1. Mr WordPress January 5, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

